killoevolution.blogg.se

Changing boot drive mac
Changing boot drive mac














#Changing boot drive mac windows#

One of the things I liked about how Chimera/BIOS boot worked was that I could have as many drives as I wanted, with as many bootloaders as I wanted, in my machine (currently: primary SSD, secondary/backup SSD, 1TB partitioned with 1x OSX and 1x windows as further backup/options). we have to go through the whole process again to save things potentially. That's unfortunate, because it means if that one drive- or its EFI partition- gets hosed, whether by natural causes, or by tinkering with the EFI/Clover itself. Other drives with bootloaders installed results in the issue. If I'm understanding this right- I've since read a huge thing on UEFI- what this means is that we should really have only a single drive with bootloaders in the EFI partition of that drive. It's unfortunate there isn't a GUI right inside Clover itself that lets us instruct Clover to not add this stuff automatically. Now my computer is happy and stable again! Since my M.2 drive was not showing at all, I removed everything using the method described above, rebooted, and here was the result:

changing boot drive mac

I went to work, after the first attempt to remove the extra entries in the BIOS (UEFI 238475MB is NOT a real hard disk), here was the result: I removed the Samsung SSD, and since I am not using it, I also removed the 2TB drive (this drive was completely blank, but it's big and noisy and I don't need it). After a few restarts, by BIOS looked like this: None of the other drives had boot loaders installed.

changing boot drive mac

Both drives are nearly identical, and clones of each other with bootable clover and El Capitan. The Samsung M.2 drive was still installed at sata5.

changing boot drive mac

In response to a question elsewhere, I reconnected my Samsung SSD to sata1. Building a CustoMac Hackintosh: Buyer's Guide














Changing boot drive mac